Get Out

Every August I begin my horror movie marathon. Where I watch over 90 horror films that I own. It is roughly three months of me being terrified. Outside of that marathon I am not much of a horror movie watcher. So nine times out of ten, I don’t go see the new horror films.  But with such hype and excitement around Get Out I decided I could not miss this one.

Get Out is the directorial debut of Jordan Peele of Key and Peele fame. The film stars Daniel Kaluuya, Catherine Keener, Allison Williams, Bradley Whitford and Caleb Landry Jones, and follows a young interracial couple who visit the mysterious estate of the girl’s parents.

First off, I am going to tell you right now, after seeing this movie, I have made the conscience decision to never, ever, ever, meet another girls parents. Ever. I am out. I got out. Out. Because this is absolutely creepy as hell, and incredible to watch! And I totally get the name, because all movie long I was screaming, “Bro! Get Out!” Jordan Peele has legit had his coming out party to the world of directing.

Everyone in the film is incredible. Most notably Daniel Kaluuya in the starring role. This guy is talented, and cannot wait to see where he goes next! Allison Williams is also great, and will definitely be a lock for next years That Bitch Cray in the Jeebus Awards! They had such great chemistry together, that it added to the creepiness of the overall film. It was also awesome to see Banshee in another film. Caleb Landry Jones is a great actor, and I love when he pops up in the films.

While Kaluuya is a break out of the film, he is definitely not the only break out. Lil Rel Howery is incredible. In a horror film, there’s not normally the comedic relief, or at least a large part being the comedic relief. But Howery was really good, and extremely funny. He serves as the audiences surrogate into his world, and pretty much says what’s on our mind. Not to mention that even though this could have taken you out of the film, the comedy fit perfectly.

Peele did a great job mixing the horror and suspense with a little sprinkle of comedy that gave you enough to relax. I am very excited to see what he does next. As far as this goes, Get Out is incredible. I am giving it a Jeebus Score of 3.5! Are you excited about seeing Get Out this weekend? Any terrible stories meeting your significant others parents? Sound off in the comments below! And remember, It Is What It Is!

The Jeebus Score explained

The Jeebus score is out of a possible 5 points with a .5 bonus. Films are giving a max of 1 point each for Entertainment Value, Story/Writing, Performance, Direction, and Production. There is also a possible bonus up to .5. Any film between 2.5 and 4 is considered a good film. 4-5 is a great film. Anything over 5 is an incredibly amazing film. To get a perfect score of 5.5 a film will pretty much have to be The Empire Strikes Back or The Godfather.

Leave a Reply

