Barbershop: The Next Cut

First off I was a huge fan of the first 2 BarberShop films. I cannot tell you how many times I have rewatched the first one. Cedric The Entertainer kills me every single time! I continually laugh at it no matter how many times I watch it. I was extremely excited to see we were getting to go back to the shop. Excited to learn new life lessons and have a lot of fun with these characters. While the film has not been heavily promoted I enjoyed the trailer and was quite ready to see this film. And let me tell you, it did not disappoint.

Now this is not your hyper smart comedy. Do not go looking for the next Oscar winning comedy in Barber Shop. These films are just fun the characters are enjoyable, and they are a great way to escape and have laugh. And there are plenty of laughs in this installment of the franchise. Dare I say the most laughs of the entire franchise?  This go around sees Ice Cube, Eve, Cedric the Entertainer, Anthony Anderson, and Sean Patrick Thomas return in their respective roles. They are joined by Regina Hall, Nicki Minaj, Deon Cole, Margot Bingham, Common, J.B. Smooth, Lamorne Morris, Michael Rainy Jr., and Utkarsh Ambudkar

The Comedy is incredible. There are constant laughs brought up by numerous different characters. Weather it is by way of one liners, or just situational comedy. Everyone brings a unique brand of humor to this film and it is great to see. As well the chemistry between the cast is wonderful. You feel the connection between them, and you want to just hang out at the Calvin’s Shop!

The new editions were all fun. I was especially surprised by Common’s comedic timing. He hits a lot of one liners that almost come from out of nowhere. Also Nicki Minaj was a lot of fun in this film. I was very surprised by that. I enjoyed her character, and loved what she brought to the film. Plus she is really hot. SO that definitely helped.

The story is pretty simple, and that’s all it needed to be. I did not go to this film for over bearing story that makes me think to keep up. I just want to have some fun, and be invested in these characters lives. And the story did just that. This seemed like the next step for Calvin’s Shop, and fit within the world they have set up.

However it is not all great. There a few glaring weakness. Most notably the absence of Michael Early, Leonard Earl Howze, and Deray Davis as Ricky, Dinka and Hustle Guy respectively. Yes I know DeRay Davis is only credited as “Hustle Guy” but I found myself waiting for him to walk into the shop all film long. I think it was a missed opportunity not to have him cameo. Troy Garity cameos as Isaac in the opening scene, but other than that he was missed as well. There is no explanation for the characters absences, they just aren’t there. As well there are some sports inaccuracies. Now bear with me as this is very nitpicky. The film opens with Ice Cube’s character Calvin giving a voice over in which he explains how Chicago life is now. He talks about everything Chicago has given the world, including the great baseball team the Cubs. Then in the next shot we see Calvin, in a White Sox hat. No White Sox fan would promote the Cubs. Sorry that stuck out to me. There are also some insane edting cuts that jar you out of the film

For the most part Barbershop 3: The Next Cut is a fun movie. A movie you will enjoy if you enjoyed the first films. If you were not a fan of the first 2, you probably won’t like this one. But it is honestly a fun, hilarious, and over all heartwarming film about family, and friends. I was definitely not disappointed. After being such a fan of Ice Cube and the first to films, I was not let down by this one. I am even hoping for a fourth installment! Hopefully with the missing cast members from this go around! More Ice Cube, more Cedric, more Nicki, and definitely more of the insanely beautiful Eve! Ruff Ryders all day! All in all, I am giving Barbershop 3: The Next Cut a score of 2.9, with a Jeebus Bonus for Nicki Minaj and Eve of .3, giving it a Jeebus Score of 3.2! If you have some free time in the next few weeks, liked the first 2 films, and want to laugh, give it a go!

The Jeebus Score explained

The Jeebus score is out of a possible 5 points with a .5 bonus. Films are giving a max of 1 point each for Entertainment Value, Story/Writing, Performance, Direction, and Production. There is also a possible bonus up to .5. Any film between 2.5 and 4 is considered a good film. 4-5 is a great film. Anything over 5 is an incredibly amazing film. To get a perfect score of 5.5 a film will pretty much have to be The Empire Strikes Back or The Godfather.

Leave a Reply

