https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Terminator_Genisys

Terminator Genisys

“The future is not set, there is no fate, but what we make for ourselves” as said by John Connor, leader of the resistance. Problem is, if that really is that can’t be true. Because we can never seem to stop Skynet. Skynet has become self-aware and will continue to create Terminator films.

Terminator: Genisys is a film I have been both excited for, and worried about. Early rumors about a twist that dumb as hell had me worried initially. Then the trailer came out and spoiled that twist of John Connor being a Terminator. Which I thought was stupid. SO I went into Genisys with a lot of fear that this would be complete garbage, yet I was hopeful that maybe it would surprise me. The fifth installment of the Terminator franchise stars Emilia Clarke, Jai Courtney, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Jason Clarke, Lee Byung-Hun, Matt Smith, and J. Jonah Jameson, I mean J.K. Simmons. Directed by Thor The Dark World director Alan Taylor, Genisys tells the story of John Connor (J. Clarke) finally sending Kyle Reese (Courtney) back to 1984 to protect Sarah Connor (E. Clarke). However now that Reese has arrived, an alternate timeline has taken place, and nothing is as it seemed. Will they once again be able to protect the legacy of John Connor, or are we, the human race, due for Termination.

Honestly, like I said, I was really worried about this film, but I try to do my best to check my emotions at the door and just judge the film on its own merit. Maybe this was my low expectations, maybe it was me falling in love with Emilia Clarke, but I actually enjoyed this film quite a bit. It definitely had its problems, but for the most part, I had fun watching it. It does not live up to T2 or TERMINATOR, but I will say it is better than Rise of the Machines and Salvation.

The positives start with Arnold. He is awesome. He takes you back to the Terminator you knew and loved. The explanation for his aging, which is exactly how most thought it would be, is viable and believable. His one liners are back in full force and fun as ever. I thought some of the through back ones would of felt jammed in there, but they weren’t. This film does a good job paying homage to original films. It has a lot of shot for shot remakes from the first film, and I really enjoyed it. Also, Emilia Clarke. After rewatching Terminator the other day, I bought into her appearance as Sarah Connor. And after watching the film, I found her acting to be perfect for the role as well. We finally get the explanations on how the whole time travel started, why Kyle Reese had such a bad entrance to 1984 while the T-800 had an epic entrance. It makes sense. The action was over the top and fun, and I think there was really only one moment that I thought to myself “wow Cinema Sins is going to love that one”. While most people are hating on Jai Courtney, I actually didn’t mind him. He was pretty functional in my opinion.

But that’s not to say it does not have its problems. It legitimately rips holes in the plots of ever Terminator film to date. Completely screwing up the time line, and an effort, I think, just to put Sarah Connor and Kyle Reese in today’s age. Not cool. It also never fully explains where the Old Terminator comes from. There is a little through away dialog but never follow ups. I guess you can chalk that up to the soon to be sequels? But still, lazy writing. The John Connor is a Terminator angle isn’t terrible, but was pretty confusing to me. It felt like the writers just said hey, we don’t have an idea for the next model, let’s just make up some science crap and hide Dr. Who in the back ground. Yes, you have Dr. Who Matt Smith and barely even use him. While the original films were fun because they were well written, horror/action/thrillers, this one takes the approach of T3 and is nothing more than a popcorn action flick. Not what you want. From Terminator. I was also not a fan of Jason Clarke’s portrayal, it was bland and boring. J.K. Simmons character, while cool in concept, also needed a lot more fleshing out. Also. PG-13. Come on Hollywood. Couldn’t you give us the R version of this? I don’t watch Game of Thrones, but it is to my understanding that Emilia Clarke is always naked on there, you couldn’t give us that scene here?! I’m taking off .2 of my final score for that crap.

All in all, Terminator Genisys is not the return to fame that we all want. I want to compare it to Jurassic World, but at the same time, I feel I can’t. While Jurassic World to me was not the Jurassic Park level I wanted, and Genisys is not the Terminator/T2 level I wanted, but still enjoyed both films, something is still off on Genisys that wasn’t with Jurassic World. I can see that most people are already bashing this film, and I can understand why, but I can’t tell you it’s terrible, because I honestly had a good time watching it. I’m giving it a score of 3.4, with a .3 bonus for Arnolds performance, but -.2 for no R rating and nothing but teasing us with Emilia Clarke nakedness. That gives us a final Jeebus Score of 3.5. Not terrible. But look, like I’ve always said, I love 90% of films I see. I even loved Super Mario Bros. So don’t take my word, go see it yourself, see what you think, come back and let’s talk about it. In the comments below or you can always find me on Twitter. Until next time, I’ll be back.

The Jeebus Score explained

The Jeebus score is out of a possible 6 points. Films are giving a max of 1 point each for Acting, Entertainment, and Casting, and a max of .5 for Dialog, Cinematography, and Direction. There is also a possible bonus up to .5. Any film between 2.5 and 4 is considered a good film. 4-5 is a great film. Anything over 5 is an incredibly amazing film. To get a perfect score of 6 a film will pretty much have to be The Empire Strikes Back or The Godfather.

Leave a Reply

