http://cdn1-www.comingsoon.net/assets/uploads/gallery/ted-2/ted2postersmall.jpg

Road to Ted 2

Let me start by warning you, I love Family Guy. I do. I watch it ever single night. Fall asleep to it on Netflix. Does that make me bias when reviewing Ted or Ted 2? Maybe. But the same guy that created Family Guy and the Ted films also created A Million Ways to Die in the West. And that was garbage. So maybe I’m bias, maybe I’m not, all I can say, is I just laughed hysterically for the entire duration of that film!

So Ted 2 is the sequel to 2012s smash hit Ted. Once again directed by Family Guy creator Seth MacFarlane, the film brings back Mark Wahlberg and Macfarlane in the lead roles. This go around to save his marriage to Tami-Lynn, played by Jessica Barth, Ted (MacFarlane) must go to court to prove that he is in fact a person, and deserving of Human Rights. Amanda Seyfried joins the cast as Ted’s lawyer on her first case looking to save Ted from being branded as property.

Look folks, you should know what you’re getting when you go into a film like this. No it’s not that crap hole A Million Ways to Die in the West, but it relies on weed humor, fart jokes, and nut shots. The same jokes you’ve always seen, told in a different manner, and honestly, still funny. But they are nothing new. Ted was such an instant classic, it had something special. Ted 2 does hit all the same beats but with certain twists on them. Not in a Hangover Part II way, but in the way you would expect a Family Guy episode too. Cause that is what this is an extra-long Family Guy episode. It even has a few cut away gags, and celebrity cameos.

It may sound like I’m talking down on this, but I’m not. I really enjoyed it. But it is what it is, a parody in and of it. The only legit negatives I think tare the fact that final act, the big showdown, is insanely Deja Vu-ish, a fact that they point out to you. A few jokes hit flat, but the ones that do, mostly are because you already saw them in the trailer. And as much as to me it is a positive, I can see that being a live action Family Guy episode could be viewed as a negative if you are not a die-hard fan of the series. There is even one joke that is a parody of Planes, Trains, & Automobiles, that have already used in an Episode of Family Guy.

To be honest though, Ted 2 is a fun time! I had a blast. But I wasn’t going into it expecting the next big thing to come out of comedy. I went to it expecting to laugh, and I did. Hard. To the point that my face kind of hurts. I will also warn you now; stick around until after the credits, there is a post credit scene. All in all I’m giving Ted 2 a 4.0, with a .5 bonus for Family Guy like cut aways, and the grocery store cameo that I will not spoil here because it is way too good. Trix are for kids though. Anyway, that brings us to Jeebus Score of 4.5. How about you Jackass Nation? Are you excited for Ted 2? Did you like the first? Are you a fan of Family Guy? Let me know in the comments below, and remember, keep on nerding!

The Jeebus Score explained

The Jeebus score is out of a possible 6 points. Films are giving a max of 1 point each for Acting, Entertainment, and Casting, and a max of .5 for Dialog, Cinematography, and Direction. There is also a possible bonus up to .5. Any film between 2.5 and 4 is considered a good film. 4-5 is a great film. Anything over 5 is an incredibly amazing film. To get a perfect score of 6 a film will pretty much have to be The Empire Strikes Back or The Godfather.

Leave a Reply

