Agent Carter

Marvel’s Agent Carter in review.

Now that Agent Carter has ended, and I say ended because it has. Agent Carter was classified as a mini-series that ran for 8 episodes. They never called it its own series, it was planned and ran as a mini-series. Now where was I, oh yes, now that Agent Carter has ended I thought I’d give my opinions on it. Not that any of you care, but hey, maybe someone does, and I have a computer so I’m going to write about it. I like my opinions. You should be warned also, SPOILERS ARE AHEAD! I AM GOING TO TALK ABOUT A SHOW THAT RECENTLY AIRED AND HAS RAN ITS COURSE AND ENDED! SPOILERS! DON’T COMPLAIN IF YOU KEEP READING AND ARE SPOILED! Ok.

So from start to finish Agent Carter was 8 episodes. I think that was right amount for them to run. It maybe could have stood to air 1 or 2 more, but it did not hurt it to stop at 8. With a lot of shows, Superhero shows especially, they get to running 22, 23 episodes a season. With that many you run the risk of not having a story that can really be drawn out in each episode. Especially in the beginning. You have to filter in “monster of the week” or “lesson of the week” type of episodes. Not that it is a bad thing. It can just sometimes distract from the overall arch of the show. With this mini-series format, they knew their story, and executed it perfectly.

The cast was strong in my opinion. It starred Hayley Atwell, James D’Arcy, Chad Michael Murry, Enver Gjokaj, Shea Whigham, Ralph Brown, Dominic Cooper, Bridget Regan, and a cameo appearance by Neal McDonough as Dum Dum Dugan. The series took place within the Marvel Cinematic Universe and held tie in’s to the films, mostly toward Captain America: The First Avenger, but held connections like characters mentioned in other films.

Agent Carter followed Agent Peggy Carter (Atwell) of the S.S.R. where she is often treated as nothing more than a glorified secretary. Missing her days of the war where she had purpose, she finds herself in middle of a scandal involving an old friend, Howard Start (Cooper). Allied by only Stark’s loyal butler Jarvis (D’Arcy) Peggy must find a way to clear his name, before it is too late, and many innocents are lost in a catastrophic disaster.

Right from the start I was entertained. It immediately become one of my favorite shows to watch. Seeing Agent Carter have to work around her time and being over looked for being a woman was a very welcomed plot device. Plus I am a sucker noir type films. I loved this era. The roaring 40s. The show kept you guessing on where it was going, who was behind the curtain, and what the plan was. In the end it wasn’t Hydra that I thought it would be, but Leviathan, and the can only be assumed to be as The Black Widow Project. The character Dottie (Regan) presumably the first Black Widow. Hinting toward the past of our own MCU hottie, Agent Romanoff, The Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson).

In the end Leviathans plan was simple revenge. Stark had created a gas by mistake that caused the death of many Russian soldiers, including Johann Fennoffs (Brown) brother. Luckily Agent Carter and Jarvis are able to foil his plan in the end, with only Dottie escaping. Fennoff is placed in prison with a cell mate, hinting to what can only be assumed as the beginnings of HYDRA. Toby Jones reprises his role in the final scene of the series as Arnim Zola, ex hydra scientist, now prisoner of the S.S.R. and cell mate of Fennoff. Leading us to believe that it is here where HYDRA began to its plan to grow within the S.S.R. and eventual S.H.I.E.L.D.

Do I think this show doesn’t need to continue? Not necessarily. Another short mini-series could benefit the history of S.H.I.E.L.D. and give us more adventures. I’d like them to jump a little time. I’d like to think with how the series ended Agent Carter is still where she was in the beginning. Knowing her worth, and how important she is the agency, but still being over looked. That is her superpower. Constantly being underestimated. This spot leaves us to believe the Marvel one shot Agent Carter that accompanied the Iron Man 3 Blu Ray release takes place after this series. If they were to jump time for the next installment, Peggy and Stark could have begun building S.H.I.E.L.D. We could see her leading the agency. Building it from the ground up. See HYDRA begin to form in the under belly. I think there is a lot to go on there.

All in all, I was very impressed with Agent Carter. Given the slow start to Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. this could’ve ended up bad. Normally my Jeebus Score is reserved for film, but if I were to give it Agent Carter I would give it a 4.2. I can tell you this is a mini-series I will be purchasing on Blu Ray.

The Jeebus Score explained

The Jeebus score is out of a possible 6 points. Films are giving a max of 1 point each for Acting, Entertainment, and Casting, and a max of .5 for Dialog, Cinematography, and Direction. There is also a possible bonus up to .5. Any film between 2.5 and 4 is considered a good film. 4-5 is a great film. Anything over 5 is an incredibly amazing film. To get a perfect score of 6 a film will pretty much have to be The Empire Strikes Back or The Godfather.

Leave a Reply

