Margot Robbie, Focus

FOCUS, February is almost over!

Will Smith is a guy that has always been a Movie Star. Bad Boys, Independence Day, Men in Black, Ali and the list goes own. There was a time when putting Will Smith in your movie, nearly guaranteed it would open. Then came the days of his son Jaden, and it seemed that Smith began to push his son on us. Rumors swirled about Smith being difficult to work with on set, crazy demands and what have yous. Then came After Earth. Yeah, that garbage. Well truth be told, I never lost faith in Smith. I don’t much care for his son, but I for one will always venture out to see a Will Smith flick. So now that Focus has been released, obviously out I went to see the film starring Smith, Margot Robbie, and Rodrigo Santoro.

Professional con-man Nicky Spurgeon (Smith) finds himself falling for Jess Barrett (Robbie) as they pull off a week long thieving and scamming ring during super bowl week in New Orleans. When things become too personal, Nicky leaves with no explanation. Years later as Nicky is the midst of new con, Jess comes streaming back into his life, this time, on the opposing team, standing side by side with billionaire racecar owner Garriga (Santoro). Who’s playing who, who is conning who, and who will come out on top?

The film is a lot of fun. Is it the most believable? Absolutely not. It is a heist film that obviously goes above and beyond the norm. It kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time. Certain scenes get really intense, and pulled me in. When a film can make me sit up and really care about what’s about to happen, it makes me believe in it, that’s when I know I’m watching something ill enjoy for years to come. The subtle jokes hit well with me, everyone in the film fit their roles perfectly. Visually it was shot well, and Glenn Ficarra and John Requa direction, was perfectly paced.

Now I am going to drop off a little on a bit of a side track here. Smith and Robbie had incredibly chemistry together in this film. When they are on screen together it just fun to watch. Was it these characters, or these actors? I think it is a combination of both. Which makes me super excited for their upcoming adventure in the DC film, Suicide Squad. In Suicide Squad Smith and Robbie will be playing Deadshot and Harley Quinn respectively, and I am so excited! They play off each other so well, and if the Suicide Squad film plays out anyway like Batman: Assault on Arkham then we know these two will have quite a bit of screen time together.

So, Focus is a film that I honestly enjoyed. It was a lot of fun, it was kept me on the edge of my seat, kept me guessing with all the twist and turns. I’m giving it a bonus of .3 for the chemistry between Will Smith and Margot Robbie, and a score of 3.5, which gives us a Jeebus Score of 3.8! So what say you Jackass Nation? Are you a Will Smith fan? A fan of his kid? Are you going to see Focus? Are you excited to see Smith and Robbie in Suicide Squad? Sound off in the comments below?!

The Jeebus Score explained

The Jeebus score is out of a possible 6 points. Films are giving a max of 1 point each for Acting, Entertainment, and Casting, and a max of .5 for Dialog, Cinematography, and Direction. There is also a possible bonus up to .5. Any film between 2.5 and 4 is considered a good film. 4-5 is a great film. Anything over 5 is an incredibly amazing film. To get a perfect score of 6 a film will pretty much have to be The Empire Strikes Back or The Godfather.

Leave a Reply

