Hot Tub Time Machine 2

I was a big fan of the original Hot Tub Time Machine. I didn’t go into expecting a lot, I just kind of saw it, and had a fun time with the film. The cast gelled and played off each other very well, the story was basic but fun, and the acting was not terrible. So when I heard a sequel was in the works, I was pretty excited. I saw the first red band trailer, and like with all comedies, it was the only trailer I watched. I feel that way I don’t get spoiled on all the jokes. So after the trailer I was still very excited! So I went to see Hot Tub Time Machine 2 tonight, and needless to say, I was way off.

Hot Tub Time Machine 2 once again stars Craig Robinson, Rob Corddry, and Clark Duke, and they are joined by Adam Scott in a film directed by Steve Pink, and cameos Chevy Chase. This go round, Lou (Corddry) and Nick (Robinson) have really taken advantage of their Hot Tub Time Machine. Nick is a famous musician who has made a career making the songs that were already hits before the original artist could, while Lou has created Lougle before Google could hit. However after Lou’s nature gets him shot, the guys must once again take a dip into the Time Machine to save Lou’s life, this time, in the future.

Look, let’s call a spade a spade, this film is crap. All the magic and randomness of the first is completely gone. The jokes mostly all fall very flat, and the dialog seems to just be trying too hard. They go for shock value humor as much as they can and it seems forced, and just doesn’t hit right. Oddly even the chemistry is off between these three returning cast mates, and Adam Scott, who I like, is a little bit over the top. I don’t know if it was really missing John Cusack, or if it’s something else, but it just falls short.

Now there are a few laughs. They are far and few between but you do chuckle at a few parts. I think the best part is honestly the end during the credits showing a montage of them time traveling. That was another small issue. The trailers made it seem like they would be traveling through different periods throughout the film, not the case. They go to the future, to save the past. And all though Adam Scott is a little over the top, he does have a few good moments. Craig Robinson is probably the best character as the film drives on though. I think they should have focused more on his character arc, but then again I don’t even know if that would’ve saved it.

All in all it is not a fun movie, not worth going to see, and complete let down of a comedy. One of those sequels that looks to capitalized on the snap success of its predecessor and falls short, (the Hangover Syndrome). I’m giving it a score of 2.3, with a bonus of .2 for Gillian Jacobs boobs, giving us a Jeebus Score of 2.5. But how about you Jackass Nation. Did you like the first film? Are you wanting to see the second? Sound off in the comments and let me know!

The Jeebus score is out of a possible 6 points. Films are giving a max of 1 point each for Acting, Entertainment, and Casting, and a max of .5 for Dialog, Cinematography, and Direction. There is also a possible bonus up to .5. Any film between 2.5 and 4 is considered a good film. 4-5 is a great film. Anything over 5 is an incredibly amazing film. To get a perfect score of 6 a film will pretty much have to be The Godfather.

Leave a Reply

