Horrible bosses 2

Horrible Bosses 2

I had not seen the first Horrible Bosses before the day I was going to see Horrible Bosses 2. Every time I would sit down to watch it, it’d either be late and I’d pass out 20 minutes in, or something would come up 20 minutes and I’d have to stop watching. I literally saw the beginning at least 15 times. So I made it a point to finally sit and watch it right before I planned to go to see the second. I enjoyed it as I thought I would, and was ready for the sequel. The Sequel brings back the cast of Jason Bateman, Charlie Day, Jason Sudeikis, Jennifer Aniston, and Jamie Fox, and adds in Christopher Waltz and Chris Pine. The film is directed his go around by Sean Anders.

I really enjoyed this film. I found it freaking hilarious. I actually liked it more than the first. This go around the Nick (Bateman), Dale (Day), and Kurt (Sudeikis) have decided they want to be their own bosses, they no longer want to deal with horrible bosses in the world. They have invented their own product and look to go into business for themselves. When a business tycoon (Waltz) screws them out of their own product they take it among themselves to kidnap his business partner and son (Pine) and hold him ransom.

The story is basic yet different from the first. They don’t suffer from what I call the “Hangover Part II”. They took this opportunity to take the characters and put them in a different situation rather than just rehash the same plot from the first. All the returning characters are great. While in the first film they were dumb but pretty grounded, this movie dials them up to 10. It can seem a little over the top, but it’s pretty hilarious. The new additions, Waltz and Pine, are incredible. Christopher Waltz does what we love to see him do and be the slimy, evil, bad guy. While his son Pine, pulls off an amazing role as just the douchebag millionaire son.

I literally found myself cracking up laughing nearly the entire film. A lot of the jokes hit right on cue and leave you chuckling until the next one hits. The situations, the punchlines, everything. It is incredibly funny. While the first one had some hit and miss comedy, this one really hit a home run for me. I won’t call it the best comedy of the year, it is definitely in the competition.

My only complaint about the film is that while during the second act there are few scenes that maybe drag on a little bit. It probably could have benefited from taking another pass or 2 in the editing room. Maybe trim it down from 108 minutes to 95-100 zone. However, that said, I think if you enjoyed the first, you’re really going to enjoy this one. It’s funny, well-acted, and entertaining all the way through, I’m going a to score it a 4.3 with a .2 bonus for Jennifer Aniston, cause my lord she is hot. Giving Horrible Bosses 2 a Jeebus score of 4.5, a good time at the theater.

Leave a Reply

