Chef

So this one isn’t a new release, but I just got around to watching it so I wanted to put up a review for it. Chef. Written, directed, produced, and starring Jon Favreau. Alongside Favreau Chef stars John Leguizamo, Sofia Vergara, Scarlett Johansson, Oliver Platt, Dustin Hoffman, Robert Downey Jr. And I just got to say, Leave it to Favreau to assemble such an ensemble cast, as well as write himself a character that has an ex wife played by Sofia Vergara and a love interest played by Scar Jo. Nice one Jon.

So Chef follows the story of Los Angeles Chef Carl Casper (Favreau) who after a twitter war between a himself and a major food critic (Platt) goes viral and culminates in a video outburst by Casper, quits his job and ends up on a trip with ex-wife and son to Miami. While in Miami he is pushed to get a food truck that he fixes up and begins a journey back to LA making stops along the way bonding with his son and getting back to the basics of what made him the chef he was.

The story is pretty cool and plays out well. It is interesting and fun to follow. And in a way a metaphor for Favreau himself. He said about writing this film he wanted to get back to basics after the major motion pictures he had been putting out. The direction is greatly on par, and the plays out well. It is really just a fun film to watch. A heartwarming story about a father and son, mixed together with a road trip and a cooking fun that’ll make you hungry for more!

The story is very social media heavy too. And it helps push the film, and makes it realistic. We are in an age where everything is social media driven, where every company has a twitter, an instragram, a Facebook, all of that. Something I try to take advantage of and this film gives me hope, so shameless plug in the middle of a review, retweet, and send out my reviews. Go down to the bottom of this and comment a little. It helped out Carl Casper, maybe it’ll help me.

The cast is a lot of fun and well put together. While most like Dustin Hoffman and RDJ are small roles, they are all great characters. RDJ obviously plays himself. And Hoffman is on his game for the few scenes he has. ScarJo is always fun on camera, and is just stunningly beautiful. And I’ll tell you this, I love John Leguizamo. Every film he’s in, I always love to see him pop up. Like I’ve always said, I loved Super Mario Bros, and he was Luigi! Favreau.

There really wasn’t much I didn’t like about it, not that it is the best movie of the year, or an Oscar worthy film or performances, but there are just aren’t really many negatives. I think if I really sat and thought about it I might be able to come up with some, but they’d probably be nitpicky, and I don’t want to just pull out something you didn’t like just for the sake of telling you something bad about it. If you really want me to pull something out, I’d say maybe there is a disappearance of ScarJo halfway thru the film, and there isn’t any real closure or development with the character. Other than Leguizamo’s character, Casper, and Casper’s son played by Emjay Anthony, no other character really gets any kind of development or story arch. But, that’s it. Sorry. Best I got for you.

So while I didn’t have any negatives, we end up with a very fun film, I gave it a Jeebus score of 4.5, would have been a Good time at the theater! So get on On Demand, or go out and buy it on DVD, Chef, a great film.

Leave a Reply

