This Week In Movie News

Welcome to this week in Movie news. The debut blog was supposed to go up last Saturday but I got wrapped up in my buddies wedding stuff and just didn’t have the time. So to counter that, we are going to chat the last 2 weeks of movie news. Most of which you probably already know, I’m just going to go over the big news and give a little bit of my own opinion on that. So, let’s get to it.

First thing we will get into is Marc Webb has announced he will be leaving the directors duties of The Amazing Spider-Man series after the third film. Honestly I think this is a good thing. Creative director’s risk getting stale sticking with a franchise so too long. Look at Sam Raimi and the first Spider-Man franchise. Bringing in a little bit of new blood will keep the franchise fresh. Which I believe is something we need. We are in an era when Reboots are inevitable, and I think if we could just sit back, and let new faces take over we could see fewer reboots. Kind of like the James Bond series. New bond, same series for years upon years. 20 or so films. Plus Webb has said he would like to stick around and perhaps consult a little here and there, and will probably be given a producers credit. Sony has shown they are ready for a shared Universe. A Universe that will be full of villains, which is new to the hero movie world. So fear not Spider-Man fans, we will be just fine.

Now what we are really waiting for, finally a tad bit of Star Wars news! Episode 7 will take place 30 years after Return of the Jedi. Good call. If you want to bring back the Big 3, at this time it’s not like you can make the film take place the day after the Ewok party. As well we have gotten the information that the film will focus around 3 new young Jedi, and some familiar faces. Now this got everybody excited. Everyone except me. Because let’s face it, we know this. We know there will be new Jedi in training, and we know the Big 3 will be back. This isn’t real news. Give me some casting, give me a plot hint. Give me something real. You are starting production in 2 months, TELL ME SOMETHING! I’m sick of these irrelevant subtle “news” stories that aren’t news!

We got Cars 2, who cares. We Got Monsters University, who cares. We are getting Finding Dory and Cars 3, who cares! Other than the Toy Story films, no one wanted sequels except to one! And finally, it is coming! The Incredibles 2! This is what we have all been waiting on! If any of the Pixar films was set up and deserves a sequel, it’s this one! And what excites me is not just that Incredibles 2 is finally coming but think about: Disney Owns Marvel this go around. We could see some Marvel cameos in this go around. I don’t expect anything big. Iron Man is not going to show up and save the day. But random little fun cameos in the background or so? Awesome! Not to mention that seeing the progression of these characters is going to be great! Seeing little Jack Jack come into his own? Shut Up and take my money!

Concept art and some photos have been released for Marvel’s The Avengers 2: Age of Ultron. We will start with the most recent then go back to the more exciting. Action shots of Quick Silver, Scarlett Witch, and Hawkeye. Pretty basic, what I can say is I am already more excited for Marvel’s Quick Silver and Scarlett Witch better than the version we are getting g from Fox. What’s weird is Marvel can’t even hint at their true back stories, yet they look to be on top of the game. Hawkeye seems to have a new look and I like it. It’s a lot more comic like. The Ultron picture is a little more off, but I assume there will be a ton of CGI around him. So last up is the Hulk Buster concept art. This is what’s exciting. Yeah Banner’s trick is that he is always angry, but it is the Hulk. Eventually he is going to Rage out and the Avengers are going to have the deal. Even if this is just a small battle in the film it will be exciting to see Hulk and Iron Man go at it.

So Marvel pretty much runs the Hero game when it comes to films. Between Marvel Studios, Sony’s Spider-Man, Fox’s X-Men and soon to be Fantastic Four universe, Marvel is on top. DC gave us a decent film in Man of Steel 2, but are having problems gearing up for the sequel, or a shared universe. Now they have pushed back from their 2015 date to a date in 2016 already taken by what was then an untitled Marvel film. What was DC thinking, probably that it was going to be Doctor Strange or Black Panther. They probably felt that going against these lesser known films would make them move and they would gain a step in this game of Chicken. Well Marvel fired back hard, Captain America 3 going Head to Head with Man of Steel 2. And everything I have heard about The Winter Soldier, makes me think that MoS2 is in for a rude awakening. Sure film fans have been waiting since both Michael Keaton and Christopher Reeves suited up to see Batman and Superman together on the screen, but look at the track record! How could you not put your money on Marvel! I’m going to bet MoS2 moves their date, but if they don’t, if this game of chicken goes all the way down to the crashing point on May 6 2016, who will you see? I know where I will be at Midnight, Captain America 3.

I would like to say something about the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle trailer, but, I didn’t watch it. I am waiting until I see it on the big screen before Captain America 2, so I can’t really comment on it. However after I do see it, I’ll put something up about my opinion. The Trailer I can comment on is Hercules. No not Kellen Lutz, I’m talking The Rock! The most electrifying man in all of entertain main playing the most legendary hero of all mythology! Some people are calling the voice over cheesy, but personally I loved it. We get scenes of Hercules fighting mythological beast, an epic shot of a giant lion attacking our hero, and a shot of Herc in the famous lion hoodie! If I wasn’t already, I’m all in now! This going to be a true epic!

So that’s what I got for. Just a little opinion from a guy that doesn’t really matter. I don’t really even know why you read this, but thank you. So feel free to jump down in the comments and tell me what you feel about these topics. Or what news this week stuck out to you?

Leave a Reply

